Connect with us

Click here to join NNU for free and make money while reading news and getting updates daily.


Senate confirms 17 Commissioners for National Population Commission



The Nigerian Senate, on Wednesday, confirmed the nomination of 17 out of 19 persons transmitted to the Senate by President Bola Tinubu to serve as Commissioners of the National Population Commission, NPC.

The confirmation followed a report submitted by the Senate Committee on National Identity Card and Population chaired by Senator Abdul Ahmed Ningi.

In the report, Ningi said, the nomination of 19 persons was in line with powers vested on President Bola Tinubu to appoint qualified Nigerians to serve as Commissioners of the National Population Commission and having transmitted their names to the National Assembly, 17 of the nominees made themselves available for screening.

They were all screened and found worthy, except two of the nominees from Ondo and Ogun States who had been engaged before their appointment, hence, he was seeking the confirmation of the Chamber for 17 persons.


The nominees are:
1. Hon. Emmanuel Trump Eke – Abia
2. Dr. Clifford Zirra – Adamawa
3. Mr. Chidi Christopher Ezeoke – Anambra
4. Barr. Isa Audu Buratai – Borno
5. Bishop Alex Ukam – Cross River
6. Ms. Blessyn Brume-Ataguba – Delta
7. Dr. Jeremiah Ogbonna Nwakwegu – Ebonyi
8. Dr. Tony Aiyejina – Edo
9. Mr. Ejike Ezeh – Enugu
10. Mr Abubakar Damburam – Gombe
11. Prof. Uba Nnabue – Imo
12. Ms. Sa’adatu Dogon Bauchi Garba – Kaduna
13. Dr. Aminu IbrahimTsanyawa – Kano
14. Hon. Yori Afolabi – Kogi

15. Ms Mary Ishaya Aan – Plateau
16. MR. Saany Sale – Taraba
17. Mr. Ogiri Itotenaan Henry – Rivers
Nominees not screened are:
18. Hon. Olakunle Sobukola – Ogun
19. Hon Temitayo Oluseye Oluwatiyi – Ondo

Source link: Daily Post

Continue Reading