Connect with us

Click here to join NNU for free and make money while reading news and getting updates daily.

15 district heads

Sokoto Gov sacks 15 district heads over insecurity, others



The Sokoto State Government has relieved nine district heads of their appointment over alleged insubordination, aiding of insecurity and land racketeering.

The district heads were those of Unguwar Lalle, Yabo, Wamakko, Tulluwa, llela, Dogon Daji, Kebbe, Alkammu, and

The state government also sacked another six district heads who were appointed by the immediate past government of the state.

Abubakar Bawa, the Press Secretary to Governor Ahmed Aliyu, while briefing newsmen on the development, said the six district heads were dropped because of the way they were haphazardly appointed and their rejection by their people.


EFCC Freezes over 300 Illegal Forex Trading Accounts

EFCC Chairman: If I can go after my kinsman, why not Yahaya Bello?

They include Marafan Tangaza, Sarkin Gabas Kalambaina, Bunun Gongono, Sarkin Kudun Yar Tsakkuwa, Sarkin
Tambuwal and Sarkin Yamman Torankavwa.

“The cases involving District Heads of Isa, Kuchi, Kilgori and Gagi have been re commended for further investigations,” Bawa added.

However, Sarkin Yakin Binji, senior counselor in the Suktanate Council, was transferred to Nabunkari while the District Head of Sabon Birni was deployed to Gatawa.


Bawa noted that seven district heads had been retained. They include Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar III (Chairman Sokoto), Alhaji Ibrahim Dauki Maccido (Barayar Zaki), Abubakar Salame (Sarkin Arewan Salame) and Aminu Bello (Sarkin Yamman Balle).

Others are Mahmoud Yabo (Sarkin Gabas Dandin Mahe), Muntari Tukur Ambarura (Sarkin Gabas Ambarura) and Malam Isa Rarah (Sarkin Gabas Rarah).

Similarly, the district heads of Tsaki and Asare were retained while Abdulkadir Mujeli was reinstated as Sarkin Rafin Gumbi.

Bawa said this followed the recommendations of the Committee on the Review of the appointments of Traditional rulers, Renaming of Tertiary Institutions and the Dissolution of Governing Boards of State Parastatals.

Source link: Daily Trust/

Continue Reading